As a new segment on WhatSamWatches, I will now be doing more informal reviews/commentaries on what I’m watching. And it’ll include shows I’ll be rewatching just because I feel like it. I know I just did a review on Private Practice not that long ago but I’m not ready for it to be over. So I’m binging the show from the beginning all over again. So since I rewatched the fifth episode of season two last time, we’re now onto the sixth episode of season two of Private Practice.

Serving Two Masters

Kevin (played by David Sutcliffe) talking to Addison (played by Kate Walsh)
  • Addison really doesn’t need to hear Kevin tell this heroic story but he definitely needed to tell it.
  • The whole SWAT guy thing is already enough of a turn-on for her.
  • Timing on Private Practice is admittedly all over the place. So, it’s hard to know how long Kevin and Addison have been together. But considering the fact that Kevin saying “I love you” already freaks Addison out, it probably hasn’t been long.
  • I know Violet’s annoyed but it’s not Addison’s fault that the construction’s noisy.
  • Later on in the series, I really hate on Naomi (so look forward to that). But I love that this fight’s resolved so easily. Like, Addison’s obviously in a mood, and Naomi’s suddenly over everything she was angry about before.
  • I also agree with Naomi there – how could Addison not have trust issues?
  • Violet’s trying so hard not to say anything. But she’s not very good at hiding it.

Cooper, Charlotte, and Violet

Charlotte (played by KaDee Strickland) wearing a yellow construction hat talking to Violet (played by Amy Brenneman)
  • Cooper may (or may not, it’s hard to tell honestly) be drunk but he also just wants everyone to know about him and Charlotte.
  • Why is Cooper mad at Violet? He’s the one who outed his and Charlotte’s relationship.
  • Granted, it’s fair for Cooper to be mad at her for calling Charlotte Cruella.
  • Again, I know Violet’s mad about the construction but what does she think she can do about it? It’s not like she can stop them. They legally have a right to do construction during working hours.
  • I know Violet technically wasn’t supposed to find out about this new medical practice that Charlotte’s building. But if Charlotte didn’t want anyone to know about it yet, she didn’t have to tell Violet when she asked. Later, Charlotte says something about how she signed an NDA when she signed on to work with William White. And she basically uses that as her excuse as to why she didn’t tell Cooper.
  • But she literally just told Violet, even though she didn’t really have to. She could’ve just said she’s leasing the space for an unspecified purpose that she can’t legally talk about it. It would’ve annoyed the hell out of Violet and maybe she still could’ve figured it out somehow. But Charlotte basically offered up that information when Violet asked when she technically didn’t have to.
  • Violet should’ve just told Cooper herself instead of making it a secret.

Kevin and Addison

Addison (played by Kate Walsh) with her hands up while talking to a police officer
  • Again, I have no idea how long Kevin and Addison have been together but even Naomi’s shocked. I mean, they first kissed in the…third episode (yes, I looked it up). And it’s only the sixth episode. So, at most, it’s only been a few weeks. Trust issues or not, I might be freaked too if a partner said “I love you” for the first time that early on too.
  • Kevin being cool with the whole idea of cheating and having affairs definitely doesn’t help with Addison’s trust issues.
  • The whole situation of Addison following Kevin’s car is so cringeworthy. But it’s definitely supposed to be hard to watch. So kudos to the showrunners for that.
  • As awkward as all of that was, Kate’s gorgeous in this episode. Including when she got arrested.
  • The ending where Addison has an honest conversation with Kevin is so heartwarming. And that scene really gave me hope for them to really make it. It’s also probably why I liked this pairing.

Daniel, Laura, and Amy

Amy (played by Beth Wohl) and Daniel (played by Alexis Denisof) in an exam room while Amy brushes their son's hair
  • Now that I know Daniel’s a lying cheater, I wonder if that was his other wife, Amy, calling.
  • What does Daniel even do for a living? Either way, I already know he’s lying. He wasn’t really working, he was with his other family.
  • Since polygamy is technically illegal, doesn’t that make Daniel’s marriage with Laura (AK wife #2) invalid? They never really go into the legalities of it all but I feel like they should’ve. Addison mentions it’s illegal but I don’t think they report him or anything.
  • As terrible as the whole two-wives situation is, it does do a great job of showing off the cooperative medicine at Oceanside. Pete started with Laura’s holistic birth plan, then brought in Addison. After the baby’s DiGeorge syndrome diagnosis, Cooper steps in.
  • I’m sorry, but how were you “happily married to Amy for 12 years” but somehow found another woman to marry?
  • It’s one thing to have two wives (or even have a wife and a girlfriend) but to have babies with them at the same time really puts it over the top for me. If Daniel was honest and both women knew about each other and accepted polygamy, maybe it’d be different. I mean, I think having open relationships and the whole idea of having more than one romantic partner is more widely accepted today. But to have all of this happen without either of their knowledge is a sleazy thing to do.

Laura and Amy Meet

Amy (played by Bess Wohl) meeting Laura (played by Alexandra Holden)
  • It still bothers me how okay Pete was about this whole situation. Whether it’s professional or not, I wouldn’t want to keep it all a secret from those women either.
  • I mean, technically, Addison didn’t say a word.
  • How is marrying another woman while you’re already married “the right thing”?
  • At least Pete brought both wives back to try to fix everything.
  • I love that Laura came in to let Amy hold her hand during her delivery. Even after Amy said she wanted nothing to do with her. And then, Amy offers to be there to help with Laura’s baby after that. It’s the sweetest moment.
  • Daniel really came in at the last minute, still thinking he did nothing wrong. But I’m glad Pete told him he’d make it up by making sure both families would be taken care of (financially). Even if neither of them forgives him.

Henry and Frances

Sam (played by Taye Diggs) giving Henry (played by Billy Dee Williams) a physical exam
  • Naomi’s treatment of Frances is so great. And she ends up helping her later so bonus points there.
  • Poor Henry. It must be hard to live with someone you love that much who doesn’t remember you. I’m glad Naomi gave him at least a minute with Frances where she’s lucid.
  • I just have to say, Sam’s opinion here is interesting knowing what happens with him and his sister, Corrine, later. When Corinne shows up in season five, Sam’s insistent on taking care of her himself. And part of him thinks he can save her or fix her, but he can’t. And Sheldon, and the whole office really, knows it. But he’s so stubborn that he tries to shoulder all of that responsibility on his own, even though everyone’s trying to convince him otherwise.
  • Corinne really needed around-the-clock care but Sam wouldn’t put her in a facility. At least not until he finally had to admit defeat. I really loved that storyline but it’s definitely a big characteristic change from how he handles Henry and Frances in this episode.
  • Both Sam and Naomi are stubborn, but in this situation with Henry and Frances, she’s right.
  • I’m sorry, but how is this spinal tap good for Naomi? Is it just to stroke her ego? Maybe Sam’s worried about Henry and Frances’ health but throwing the blame on Naomi is wrong.

Dell’s New Office

Dell (played by Christopher Lowell) holding Betsey (played by Hailey Sole) while talking to Naomi (played by Audra McDonald) and Addison (played by Kate Walsh) (not pictured)
  • I love that Addison doesn’t even hesitate to give Dell an office when he asks. At this point, he doesn’t have any of his own patients. He’s just an office manager and assisting in OB cases when he can (or when Naomi or Addison let him). If Naomi were still in charge, I wonder if she’d say yes (or at least say yes that quickly). And I already know it would’ve been an immediate no from Sam.
  • Another point is that Dell is totally fine with fixing up this office space. And Addison already thinks he deserves better. It’s a small detail, but I think it’s a sweet one.
  • If Dell was just going to bring Betsey in anyway, why not just tell Addison when she asked? It’s not like he could’ve really hid her when he brought her to the office.
  • I bet if Dell did say something about it, Addison would’ve been cool with it. And she probably would’ve helped him clean up too. Or even gotten everyone to pitch in to help.
  • Dell with Betsey is the sweetest thing ever. Always. I also can’t believe that Dell’s been working here for a while now and no one knew he had a daughter. I’ll forgive Addison for not knowing (’cause she’s still a newbie) but Dell must’ve been working here for a while.
  • “I just wanted her to be proud of me” – I’m not crying, you’re crying.